Region 1

The Supreme Council of the 33° for Australia has administrative authority over the States and Territories of Australia. Given the vast expanse of the Australiian continent elements of administrative responsibility are delegated to Regional and District authorities. Australia is divided into eight Regions each of which contain as many as 10 smaller geographical Districts.

Region 1 extends across southern New South Wales and includes Sydney to the north and the Australian Capital Territory to the south. The Region is subdivided into seven Districts which offer a total of 20 Sovereign Chapters and 13 Sovereign Councils.

Chapters and Councils of Region 1 

 District Name  Chapters  Councils
 NSW Illawarra and South West Sydney  3  2
 NSW South Coast  2  1
 NSW South Eastern and ACT  3  2
 NSW Sydney Central  3  2
 NSW Sydney Northern  3  2
 NSW Sydney South  2  2
 NSW Sydney West  4  2


The 20 Sovereign Chapters and 13 Sovereign Councils each meet in one of 19 Masonic Centres distributed aross Region 1. Each of these Centres  will usually accommodate at least one Craft Lodge. One or more Sovereign Chapters will typically work collaboratively with a Sovereign Council and will sometimes meet one after the other. The Council will convene first followed by the Chapter.

To the right of this page you will see the dynamic Regional Meeting calendar which displays the date and time of the next eight meetings scheduled across Region 1. 

Use the navigation buttons below to scroll through the Region's seven Districts. Each of the District pages will: provide a brief overview of the District; introduce you to the District Commander; display a dynamic Meeting calendar for that District; and present a Google Map to highlight the location of the Masonic Centres. Feel free to zoom down to Street View to see the building particularly if you have not visited that Centre before.


Meet the RC

RV Pickering

Meet the Regional Commander for Region 1
M∴Ill∴Bro RV Pickering 33°

Regional Meetings

30 Apr 2021
06:00PM - 10:30PM
Waratah Consistory No 4
01 May 2021
04:00PM - 06:00PM
Southern Sovereign Council No 48
01 May 2021
06:00PM - 10:30PM
Goulburn Sovereign Chapter No 229
10 May 2021
07:00PM - 10:30PM
Highland St Ninian Sovereign Chapter No 99
12 Jun 2021
01:00PM - 03:00PM
ACT Sovereign Council No 2
12 Jun 2021
03:00PM - 07:30PM
Canberra Sovereign Chapter No 24
30 Jun 2021
07:30PM - 10:30PM
Holden Chapter of Improvement
01 Jul 2021
07:30PM - 10:30PM
St David Sovereign Chapter No 232

Go to
JSN Epic 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework